Healthy Chicken Parm

The hardest part of eating better as a family is that Sweet Man would like nothing to do with it.  He would like to loose the weight, but still eat all of our favorites, which is everyone’s dream.  The other day when I was planning my weekly meals I asked if there were any favorite dishes he wanted to eat this week, and he said “Chicken parm.” And I said “Oh Shit,” because when I make chicken parm, I make it old school style. Bread the breast, fry them a little on each side, put them in a dish, cover in whole milk mozzarella and sauce, each alongside copious amounts of pasta.  And that kind of food just doesn’t cut it for us any more.  I thought about a few ways to do this, but I hit upon a brilliant idea that was staring at me from the counter: spaghetti squash.  I have bought one a few weeks ago and never used it, but I’m always amazed that when you roast them and cover them with sauce, they do actually give you the sensation of eating spaghetti! Though it is missing the breading flavor, we enjoyed the basil taste and he actually said he would eat this recipe again. Hope you like it too!

Chicken Parm

Chicken Parm

Whitney’s Healthier Chicken Parm

Handful of Basil

Sauce of your choosing

One Tomato

Two chicken breasts

One medium spaghetti squash

Small package of skim milk mozzarella

Directions: You have two options on how to roast the squash, whole or cut up. I cut mine into quarters, scooped out the seeds and roasted it skin sides up at 375 for about 40 minutes. If you do it whole it should take around an hour, probably a little longer. Let them cool a little and then scrape out the deliciousness with a fork, but be careful, I have a burn to prove they are hot. Meanwhile, cut the two breasts in half and season each side with salt and pepper. Coat the bottom of a pan with non-stick spray and throw the chicken in. I covered mine becuase they were a little thick, but everyone knows their own preference for done-ness. At the last minute, take the basil leaves and cover each piece of chicken individually with a few pieces, then a slice of mozzarella and  then two pieces of sliced tomato. Cover and allow the cheese to melt.  Serve covered with sauce and more basil leaves if desired. (Serves 4)


Leave a Reply

